On the road again

Welcome to Department of Building

Building is one of the six Departments that makes up the school of Environmental technology. It was established in January, 1990. The Pioneer Head of Department was  Bldr. (Dr) M. B. A. Wuna who doubled as the Dean of the School of Environmental Technology then. It started with with three academic staff and 1 technical staff. Over the years, the Department has grown from a student population of 3 at its inception to 638 in the current academic session (2016/2017), from a staff strength of 3 academics, 1 technical staff to 21 academics (including 2 visiting Professors), 4 Technologists and 1 Senior Technical Assistant. The Postgraduate Programmes of the Department (PGD, MTech and PhD) commenced during the 2011/2012 academic session. The current Head of Department is Bldr. (Dr) R. A. Jimoh - An alumnus of the Department  

At a time, the Department had only one PhD holder but the story has however changed; the Department currently has seven (7) permanent and pensionable PhD holders, one as a contract staff, one as a part time lecturer and two as visiting lecturers. Seven (7) of the academic staff are at various stages of completion of their doctoral work. The Department for the first time since its inception, has a graduate of the Department as its Head.
The high point was the graduation of four (4) 1st Class during the 1996/1997, 2010/2011, 2011/2012 and 2013/2014 academic sessions.



To be a department where world class high level professionals are trained and provided for the construction industry in areas of construction technology and materials, structures, building production management, project management, facilities management and building services.


To train competent world class builders that will compete favorably with their peers in the construction industry.

© 2016 Department of Architecture, FUTMinna. Designed By ITS Web Team