Office of the HOD





1. The Head of Department

The department is headed by Associate Professor Rotimi Kemiki (FNIVS) who is responsible for the day-to-day running of the department. He oversees the administrative and academic affairs of both staff and students in the department and is the Chairman of the Department Board. He/she is responsible for all appointments in the department involving both academic and non-academic staff respectively. The HOD is also a member of the University Senate, SET Standing Committee and Board of School of Environmental Technology.

2. Department Examination Officer

The department Examination Officer is vested with the responsibility of overseen all examination matters (Preparation of question papers and submission to the SET Exam Officer through the HOD, collation of results, computation and presentation). He/she also keeps the records of all results and other academic records of students with the assistance from the various level Advisers. He/she performs these tasks and any other assigned responsibility by and in consultation with the Head of Department.

3. Academic Level Advisers

These category of staff act as academic advisers to students at all levels (100 Level to 500 Level). Each is appointed to a particular level and they oversee the registration of students, documentation, results and records concerning students in each of their levels. They also other related handle matters affecting the students in their respective levels.

4. The Departmental Board

The department board is the highest decision making body in the department. The Board is comprised of all the full-time academic staff in the department and is chaired by the Head of Department. The Board meets and deliberates on academic and administrative matters and other related issues affecting the department. The Board also meets and considered matters that affects staff and students directly or indirectly and also relates with the School Board (i.e. School of Environmental Technology) in addressing all matters mentioned hereinabove.


The department has the following committees under the office of the HOD, they assist in academic and administrative activities. These are;

1. Department Examinations Committee

2. Students' Project Committee

3. Research Committee and

4. Postgraduate Committee

5. Welfare Committee

The department also appoints coordinators who oversees the various programmes and activities, these includes;

1. Postgraduate Coordinator

2. SIWES/SWEP Coordinator

3. Welfare Secretary

4. DTLC Secretary

To be one of the leading departments that offer innovative and excellent real estate teaching and research in Nigeria


Committed to producing competent graduate equipped with sufficient reasoning, communication, entrepreneurial

and analytical skills in order to enable them lead, adapt to changes and conduct excellent real estate researches that

will generate new ideas and contribute to the overall development of Nigerian economy towards outstanding

achievements in the society.


The aim of the course therefore, is to educate and equip students with a fundamental body of knowledge in the constituent disciplines of Valuation, Property Management, Building Construction, Land Surveying, Land Law, Land Economics, Property Development, Project Management and Finance, feasibility and viability appraisal among others.

© 2016 Department of Estate Management and Valuation, FUTMinna. Designed By ITS Web Team