About Us



The School of Environmental Technology, Federal University of Technology, Minna took off in January, 1986 with Architecture Department as the only academic department. Other Departments, namely Building Technology, Estate Management, Urban and Regional Planning and Land Surveying and Photogrammetry, subsequently came on board at different dates in 1990. Currently, the School has six distinctive Departments – Architecture, Building Technology, Estate Management and Valuation, Quantity Surveying, Surveying and Geoinformatics and Urban and Regional Planning. The six departments offer Bachelor of Technology, Masters and PhD degrees programmes.


Train high-level manpower and build Academics that are multi-disciplinary and ICT driven with Entrepreneurial skills in Environmental Technology and Built Environment


To produce and develop competent, self-reliant and disciplined professionals in environment, settlements development, management and construction industry with local and global relevance.


The environment is an endowment of nature and a composite resource base upon which all living organisms depend for their livelihoods and survival. The interaction between living things and the environment involves a complex system of bio-physical processes that should be regulated for the sustainability of both natural and built environment. The disciplines in the School of Environmental Technology are designed to study, understand and shape the environment both as natural endowment and as products of human technological development. The theories and practice of the programmes in the School focus on scientific study of the environment as a basis for structuring the social, economic and physical landscapes of the environment. The philosophy of the programmes of the School is to develop professional and technical manpower to coordinate and regulate the physical development activities in order to evolve a liveable and sustainable built environment for mankind.


The objectives of the School are to:

i. Prepare students with a broad based background in the protection and management of our environment.
ii. Promote multi-disciplines in the conventional disciplines in the field of Environmental Technology;
iii. Promote research on the socioeconomic aspects of planning design, provision of shelter and the management of environment;
iv. Undertake consultancy services of research and practical value as an extension of academic teaching and providing opportunities for students to receive training and practical experience on live projects and research activities;
v. Document and disseminate information on indigenous materials, design and construction techniques and to formulate standards and guidelines for the development and design of experimental projects and housing prototypes.

The School is headed and administered by the Dean. Alhaji M.B.A. Wuna served as the first coordinator of the School from 1985 to 1998. His regime saw the birth of all the six Departments. Alhaji Wuna doubled as the Co-ordinator and Head of all Departments except Architecture up till 1994 when other Departments started to have their own HODs. Other Deans who have served the School include the following:

Prof. S. O. Solanke (1998 - 2006)
Prof. T. C. Mogbo (2006 - 2008)
Prof. O. O. Morenikeji (2008 - 2012)
Prof. Y. A. Sanusi (2012 - 2016)
Prof. A. M. Junaid (2016 - 2018)

Prof. (Mrs.) S. N. Zubairu (2018 - Date).